I Believe In One God

I believe in one God,

whose name is Lord. . .

whose name is Father. . .

whose name is Mother. . .

whose name is Buddha. . .

whose name is Abba. . .

whose name is Yahweh. . .

whose name is Jehovah. . .

whose name is Christ.

I believe in one God who does not discriminate,

who calls me to love,

who calls me to forgive,

who calls me to see in the eyes of all my brothers and sisters God’s eyes,

no matter what they call themselves;

Catholic, Jew, Methodist, Lutheran, Christian, Protestant, Buddhist, Atheist. . .

I believe in one God who speaks words of comfort to  the lonely

and the homeless. . .who speaks words of hope to our lepers ~ the victims of AIDS,

the dirty, and the criminal,

who speaks words of life to Lazarus, to the dying, the despairing. . .to you, to me.

I believe in one God whose focus is mission not money; faith and freedom, not financial gain; whose works speak dignity not duplicity. . .I believe in one God who calls me to see beyond my own need in order to touch the wounds of another ~ to look beyond my selfish desire for prominence in order to see the true worth of the mentally disturbed and the outcast.  I believe in one God who calls me by name, who hears me when I cry, who shares my joy and uphold me in my pain. . .for to look into the eyes of my beloved is to look into the eyes of God. . .

Sandy Ozanich ~ copyright 2012

One thought on “I Believe In One God

Leave a Reply

