The Watchman

He was standing in the  doorway

looking taller than the night,

and His eyes became like dancing flames

as they caught the soft moonlight.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And as I walked on toward Him

He quickly left that place,

but I followed close behind Him

never knowing what we’d face.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`

He led me to an open field

where the sheep and little lambs grew,

and He laid his hand upon me

and spoke these words so new.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Feed my sheep and warm their hearts,

never leave them all alone.

You are the watchman of my flock,

so give my sheep a home.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

He didn’t say another word

but slowly walked away,

and yet I knew beyond a doubt

that I had found aa way.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I pondered on the words He’d said

and thought about the way

he never had to raise His voice

to make me learn to pray.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I simply followed close behind,

drawn by this strange new man

who spoke with such authority

by simply raising His hand.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I didn’t realize then my friend

the power He possessed,

but I knew I wanted more of this

new joy that filled my breast!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And then one day I saw Him ~

at least I thought it was

the same man who had led me

to that field among the straws ~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

His face was torn and beaten,

His legs were black and blue ~

but I never will forget those eyes

that had that dancing hue!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As fear began to grip me

He slowly turned my way

and gave me such a peaceful smile

that all I did was say,

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“I’ll follow anywhere You go

and do those things You choose,

because a man with all Your strength

can never, ever lose!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And as He hung upon that cross,

His love for us was sealed,

because He suffered for us all

and to us He revealed. . .

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

That He’s the Son of God on High

His gentle touch was felt

by the strongest men in all the world

and at His gaze they’d melt.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

But, even more exciting is

the day He rose again

because we know that we ourselves

will rise up like He did!

Sandy Ozanich ~ Copyright 2012

Leave a Reply

