Living Between The Lines

Sometimes in my living I get so caught up in my own agenda that I forget to stop for a moment and take a look around and listen ~ we’ve all heard the expression “Take time to stop and smell the roses” (or for some of us, smell the coffee)

Sometimes in my writing it helps me to undersand what it is that shapes my life and how it connects to other people I come in contact with. It isn’t enough to live life in a straight line because life isn’t that way. It has its own peculiar bumps and curves ~ ~ it has a way of showing me that following a straight line is not the way to go. Having a goal to shoot for is wonderful, but when that goal gets in the way of what is really important, then there’s a chance that I’ll miss a great deal of life and love along the way.

For me it is more important to see people in terms of what I can learn from them and perhaps what they can learn from me. It is more important to live between the lines ~ ~ to see what I am not able to see and to hear what I am not able to hear. Goals and success mean nothing if I am not tuned in to that still, small voice of God calling me to carry on the work that Christ gave me to do ~ ~ to be bread for one another, to be life for one another.

I have tried to stop and listen, to live between the lines of life in order to have some understanding of the various twists and turns those lines can take. I must admit that I have not always stopped to listen ~ ~ but for those times I did, boy what I was able to see! After much thought, prayer and reflection there is nothing that I would give back; not the pain, not the disappointment, not the loneliness; for to do that would mean not truly experiencing the absolute joy and gladness that those moments in life have taught.

 

Sandy Ozanich ~ Copyright 2012

Leave a Reply

