Taking Off The Mask

I posted this a few months ago.  I wanted to post it again for a friend who I think will like it and relate to it.

There may be others of you who will  find some consolation in it.  It is a short story of how my life has evolved over some years and how I feel about life now.  It wasn’t with out pain, suffering or lonliness ~ but my life has evolved into one of joy, peace, and love for myself and others.  Of course that’s not to mean that I don’t ever suffer pain or lonliness anymore, I have just learned that by trusting in God and sharing myself with my friends I can cope and come out of those hard times stronger and more in love with life than ever.

Sandy Ozanich

________________________________________________

Lord, I’ve spent a lifetime living within my carefully constructed world where survival and approval became the blocks that built my walls.  I was proud of the way in which I was able to live ~ protected and safe from those who frightened me.  It was good to know that somehow through all those years of pain and struggle I arrived safe and insulated and. . .

Now I hear your plea, your command that I come out from my well-worn tomb and I struggle.  Can you hear my cries?  Can you help me understand why I run from those I care about?  Do I dare ask what it is that keeps me from unwrapping the bindings of my fearful heart?

I asked you to change my heart and you replied, “Show me your heart my child.  I cannot change it if you do not show it to me.  I am not a God who would force myself on you.  How long I’ve waited to be of help.  How long I’ve been waiting for you to answer my call.”

After a while, I took off my fearful wrappings and showed you my apologetic heart, beating with timid longings for a love and acceptance I had never truly known.

You have told me to look beyond my fears and see the face of my neighbors, they have much to tell.  Learn from them, they are not much different than you.  When you feel  pain, go to someone in pain; in this you will recognize each other and together you will know true joy.

Yet, your smile is one of firm encouragement, urging me to understand that all I need is love if I am real and you keep telling me that love is what makes us real.

I hear your voice telling me to take off the death mask of self doubt that hides the beauty of my soul.  You gently but firmly ask me to see with new eyes and I resist. . you show me that in life no obstacle is too great when I can reach out and acknowledge who I am in your eyes.

Slowly, carefully the wrappings of guilt and fear found their way to a heap on the floor and I walk toward the Light of your Love.  Like a child learning to toddle I inch toward the opening of this empty tomb and feel the cool breeze of today on my face ~ my glorious, unmasked face.

Sandy Ozanich ~ May 1994

This poem was an eye opener for me.  It taught me to learn to trust and to feel good about my life and not to fear learning new things.  Sometimes these issues

 

4 thoughts on “Taking Off The Mask

  1. Thanks for posting this again. There’s a lot here I can learn from; I especially relate to “the death mask of self doubt that hides the beauty of my soul.”

    I’m afraid I’ve slipped behind one of these in the past while, feeling like I’m on such a different wave length from others; fearing no one cares for me.

    • Hey! Thanks for your comment about Taking Off The Mask. I rather liked that one myself because it is so very much about my personality. I have just finished reading your post, “Ah, Blissful Matrimony”. My goodness, this sounds like my marriage. I remember saying one time the same thing you said, the thing I found attractive about my husband is now after 36 yrs of marriage one of the things that totally annoys me. . .I keep telling him he needs new material because I’ve been listening to the same jokes for 36 hears. hahaha ~ I think you and I share the same wave lengths. I’ll keep checking in with you. Blessings to you!

  2. Thank you Sandy for sharing that with me….what beautiful prose. This is so relevant to what I was writing about…again I go back to all the people out there sharing in the Human Story. God Bless you
    Lisa

    • Thanks to you Lisa. I believe we are all here to encourage one another and share in the human condition,
      we are to be helpers along the way. I will continue to read what you have to say and perhaps be a helper
      in whatever way I am able as I know your writings are to me and others as well.
      God Bless you and yours,
      Sandy

Leave a Reply

