It All Depends On Your Perspective. . .

One week ago yesterday I received from Amazon my new Kindle Fire 8.9.  I was so excited!!!  I had wanted one for so long.  It’s just as good as the famous Apple IPad but about half the cost.

It took me a year saving my change to get enough money to purchase this Kindle and I was in Heaven.  Now I could read all my books, watch movies, keep in touch, write emails and blog posts, etc.  It was like carrying my library, office and family with me.  All was well with the world.

Thursday came, 7 days into owning this wonderful new “toy” and the unthinkable happened.  I had gone to the hospital for my Pentamadine treatment.  **Pentamadine is an inhaled breathing treatment to help prevent pneumonia in my transplanted lungs.  I really hate this treatment because it tastes awful, makes a person gag and cough.  But, it is necessary to keep my lungs as healthy as possible. . .but I digress.

In order to inhale this treatment I must breathe it in front of a big box filter and in a private room so that others don’t breathe the Pentamadine.  This box has folding sides and a shelf which are put together in front of me so that I am sitting looking into this box and filter.

As I had done many times before with my “old” Kindle I would set the Kindle on this shelf and read it there.  I did the same with my new Kindle Fire.  Things were going well and about 5 minutes before my treatment was over I reached over and touched the Kindle Fire to move a page forward and then it happend ~ ~ ~ the shelf collapsed sending the Kindle Fire to the floor and cracking the screen in a big way!  OMGoodness!  I was so upset, so sad. . .I spent an entire year saving for this thing and now I have a new Kindle Fire that looks like a broken, old Kindle Fire.  It works well enough but now I look through a cracked screen with my cracked emotions. . .

As I showed this to my nurse Melissa she was so sad for me. . .then I thought of someone else who was facing more serious damage.  My friend and co-worker was having bad headaches for two days.  She went to her eye doctor because her vision was getting blurred but he told her she needed to see her physician.

Her physician sent her to the hospital for testing.  I was thinking that maybe she was having a stroke but to my surprise and the surprise of all of us who work with her she found out that she had a tumor next to her pituitary gland.  The doctors said it was a good sized one, but didn’t believe it was cancerous.

The plan was to do surgery to remove all or part of it.  Our place of work was in full prayer mode.  For those of you who don’t know or didn’t hear before, I work in a Monastery.  The prayers were storming Heaven for this lady who happens to be one of the kindest women I have ever known.

So, the latest news we received is that the surgery went well.  She told someone that she feels well and has no pain.  Her vision is still blurry, but the doctors are working on that.  It may come back on it’s own, if not they will do surgery on her eyes.

This all boils down to perspective.  I had a broken Kindle, she had a broken brain for a while. . .My broken Kindle is of no real consequence when I think about my friend and her health scare.

All will be well, yes all will be well, all manner of things will be well.  Amen!

Sandy Ozanich (c) April 2013

6 thoughts on “It All Depends On Your Perspective. . .

  1. I was upset with you about your Kindle Fire. But it is always good to put things in perspective – sometimes you have to make yourself do this! I do hope your friend is really on the mend, now. We need to count our blessings…

  2. I am so sorry that you have a cracked Kindle…I do know the feeling since I lost mine to spilled water…..I got mine for Christmas and had not even had it a year but you are so right, your friend’s situation was more serious. You can never replace her….like you can a Kindle. I am glad the physicians seem to have handle on her health. I wish you well on your treatments, too. God bless you.

    Dale

  3. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

    I’m sorry to hear your new Kindle Fire has a broken screen, but I enjoyed reading your post and am glad your transplanted lungs are serving you well. Ditto for doctors successfully treating your friend’s brain.

    • I would like to thank you as well. Yes, my Kindle Fire has a cracked screen, but it is usable and I can use it fine.
      My friend Mary and her brain tumor was such a shock and such a welcome miracle when the drs. were able to remove the
      tumor. Her eyesight is still a bit blurred, so they are waiting a bit and if it does not clear up, they will try
      surgery again.

      May you be blessed!
      SandyO

Leave a Reply

