What A Child Hears!

I had a fun day yesterday with two of my grandchildren.  Every week I go down to watch them and spend some time playing and talking with them.  I look forward to it, it lifts my spirit to be with them because they are still the innocents. . .haven’t been jaded yet by living and getting older.
When I go to the house I play with Maya first because she is only 3 and not in school yet.  We usually watch some Peter Rabbit cartoons on Disney channel, color or play with play-doh.  We read books or play a video game or two.  Mostly we just laugh and enjoy each others company.
When it’s 2:30pm, Maya and me go to school to pick up Colby who is in Kindergarten.  Then we went from school to the local playground.  We had a blast!!!  It is such fun to play with kids. After that we went to McDonalds for Happy Meals and milkshakes. . .what an afternoon!  So now the plan is to go to my house where we saw Pap and played hide and seek.
When my daughter and her husband came to pick up the children, she told me something that was disturbing.  Colby is an avid Penguins fan.  He’s soon to be 6 and he knows the names and numbers of all the players on the Penguins team and many players of other teams.  This is not the disturbing part.  This is the incredible part!!!
So, right after the Boston bombing the Penguins were scheduled to play the Boston Bruins.  While watching TV, Colby saw the Penguins manager and one or two of the Penguins players were wearing Boston Bruin shirts.  Colby was kind of upset that the Penguins were wearing the opposing team shirts.  Kelly explained to Colby that they were wearing the shirts because of the bombing that happened a few days before.  So they were just showing their care for the people of Boston.
This is the disturbing part. . .(at least to me and Kelly). . .Colby answered, “Oh, you mean the terror?”
Kelly told me that it’s hard because even if they would have the sound down Colby can still read the “crawl” at the bottom of the screen.  He can read about events that are occurring around the world.  I suppose it is just disturbing to know that a 5 year old can use the word terror or even kind of know what it means.
Of course we can all pray that the world would become a safe place to live, that our children don’t have to explain to their children what terror or bombings or suicide bombers are.  We live in very disturbing times.  It is our duty as parents and grandparents; no, it is the duty of everyone who believes in Jesus and His saving power to teach our children and grandchildren who Jesus is and why we put all our trust, faith and love in Him.  We live in a world that has very good people and very bad people, but we believe in a Lord who watches over us and strengthens us for our daily living.  So we need to have parents who believe it as well; for we can’t teach our children if we don’t know it for ourselves.
May God give you all strength, knowledge and bread (Eucharist and Scripture) for the journey.
SandyO (c) June 2013

2 thoughts on “What A Child Hears!

  1. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just
    wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or
    anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

    • I’m so sorry it has taken me so long to reply. I have to say I received a few spam comments, but I didn’t know how to deal with them either. I think I was able to just delete them, but I never went any further with them. I also have to say I didn’t get that many.

      Hope you can get it resolved. If you receive email from WordPress News, I would try to reply to that email and ask your question.

      Good luck!
      May you be blessed!
      SandyO

Leave a Reply

