detachment – the greatest challenge! (with humble apology to Br. Andre’)

A couple days ago I read the blog mentioned in this post’s title. . .what a wake up call for me!

Read this paragraph from Br. Andre’s Hearth:

” Jesus is not talking about having money or many possessions.  Jesus is talking about being attached to what we have:  money, power, positions, things, bad habits, grudges… the list is very long.  It is possible to have many things but be detached; it is possible to have very little and to be attached to it.  Jesus is talking about being so attached to the above that He is no longer first in our lives.  Jesus asks of us that He be first in our lives. That requires a letting go, a re-ordering of our priorities.  If we make Jesus first in our lives then our lives will change; we will be converted, and we will live according to His teachings.”

After reading this paragraph I recognized myself. . .I realized that I, too am attached to many things, actually I know I am attached to so many things.  I am attached to my husband in that I expect that he will know my every need, I am attached to my family – children and grandchildren, siblings and very close friends.  I want all of them to be happy because if they are suffering, I am suffering.  But I don’t know any other way to live.  I in all seriousness don’t think these are fatal attractions. . .just a bit too obsessive. . . 

It is so easy to just go along in life really not recognizing that the things I am attached to have such a hold on my life and have gotten in the way of other things.  Right now I am using one of the things I am attached to, my computer.  I spend way too much time with it.  I am attached to books, I love to read, but I spend too much time with them.  I love TV, but again, I spend too much time with it.

I am not spending enough time with God and Scripture, not spending enough time with people who need my help, my attention, my hands.  These are people beyond my family.

Right now, I will make a pledge to spend more time with God who gave me breath, with Jesus who died that I could be with Him eternally, with myself so I can quietly commune with the Spirit of my soul. . .Amen

I suggest that you visit my friend’s blog:  http://andreshearth.wordpress.com/?s=detachment

Sandy Ozanich (c) June 2013

 

One thought on “detachment – the greatest challenge! (with humble apology to Br. Andre’)

Leave a Reply

