7 Men and The Secret of their Greatness by Eric Metaxas ~ a review

As a special offer, Jason from PRBYTHEBOOK has offered 1 free copy of this book.  So, if you wish to own this book, be the first to leave a comment about the review.  I will be in touch to see that you get a copy of 7 Men And The Secret of Their Greatness by Eric Metaxas

7 Men And The Secret of Their Greatness by Eric Metaxas, Thomas Nelson Publishers 2013

****************************************

Don’t let this easy read fool you!!!  The words and stories told here reflect a strength of character that we all should strive for.

Eric is a well known writer and speaker.  The first book I read by Eric Metaxas was Bonhoeffer – Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy.  After I read that book, I knew I was holding literary gold in my hands.

Eric Metaxas certainly hasn’t disappointed with his latest book, 7 Men – And The Secret Of Their Greatness – Thomas Nelson Publisher 2013.  This book gives a much larger than a thumbnail sketch of 7 men – George Washington,  William Wilberforce, Eric Liddell, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Jackie Robinson, Pope John Paul II and Charles Colson.  Each of these men faced enormous challenges to their faith, their lives, their souls and each of these men came through stronger and filled with a deeper love for God and life itself.

I admit, I didn’t know 2 of the men, William Wilberforce and Eric Liddell.  The rest I knew about, some a bit more than others.  For instance, I had come to know Dietrich Bonhoeffer to a point where I felt I truly knew him, met him, talked with.  Of course I hadn’t met him, he died before I was born, but the writing was so good that I felt as though I was there watching the events unfold before me.

This is the feeling I got when I read about all the others in this book.  I learned things about each and every one of these men and grew in respect for them.  I was especially touched by Charles Colson’s story.  I remember seeing him and watching the developments during those Watergate years.  My friend Sue and I watched the Watergate Hearings on tv while we worked together.  We didn’t miss a day.  What we didn’t see or hear was the very private anguish that was Charles Colson’s as he realized his part in the Watergate Scandal and the ensuing years of prison and redemption.

Eric Metaxas has done it again.  I highly recommend this book.

 

Sandy Ozanich (c) July 28, 2013

6 thoughts on “7 Men and The Secret of their Greatness by Eric Metaxas ~ a review

  1. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However I am experiencing troubles with your RSS.
    I don’t understand the reason why I can’t join it.
    Is there anybody else getting identical RSS problems?
    Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

