Some Days Or Weeks Are Worse Than Others. . .

This past week has been a jumble of pain, tiredness, feeling sick being really sick.  Mix in some depression and not really wanting to talk to or see anyone and there you have it. . . I feel like telling everyone to just bugg off!!!

For the past few weeks I have been having terrible pain in my right foot, that wonderful thing called Plantar Fasciitis.  Walking was not always successful, if you consider walking “on” your foot a plus.  For several days I was walking on the side of my foot.  Still the pain continued.

I woke up on Sunday, October 20th and tried to stand up straight when I got out of bed.  Surprise!!!  No can do!  My back went “out” as we who suffer back pain say.  So, picture this, I couldn’t stand up straight or walk on my foot. . .it was a sight to see.   So on the Friday before, I left work an hour early because I just couldn’t stand to stand anymore or walk.  Hahaha

I went to see a podiatrist about my foot and he was very nice, very helpful and put a shot into my foot that literally wanted to send me through the ceiling!!!  Oh my gosh!!!  I have had pain from many different sources, but I have got to tell you that I have never experienced anything like this.  I had a cortisone shot in my frozen shoulder years ago, not a problem.  I had cortisone shot into my knee, alrighty then!!!  Put one of those shots in my foot below my ankle bone and I was ready to run, scream and hop quickly away.  BUT, it really did help.

Fast forward to this past week.  Had a clinic visit with my transplant team for a follow up, told I need to lose weight (I already know that, geez), so I made several appointments that are way overdue, you know fun ones like a gyne appointment, a colonoscopy, a mammogram, a full body scan at the dermatologist and biopsy to rule out basal cell skin cancer (because I have had this annoying skin condition), AND another podiatrist appointment.

Now, if that isn’t bad enough, my emotions have not been at their best either.  You know how it is when you let things build up for so long and then you explode???  Ok then, you’ve got the picture.  That was my crowning event yesterday.  I let loose on my husband yesterday about things that were on my mind since before the time of Christ. . .about certain things that were rightly or wrongly attributable to him and our son, and I just let him have it.  I have since told him that my only excuse was “out of my minditis”.

So, there you have it, except for this one thing. . .I forgot once again to put my anti-depressant in my medicine container for the past week.  For those of you who know about my double lung transplant 8 years ago, you know that I have to take about 30 pills a day, one of those pills is an anti-depressant.  I cannot believe that this is the second time I have done this recently.  I finally realized that it happened after I updated my med list and used the generic name of the drugs instead of the name brands.  Might not mean much, but it really did.  By re-doing my med list the pill in question moved from the top of the list to the bottom.  I won’t make that mistake again. . .I never knew how much of a difference one week’s worth of anti-depressants could make on my mood.

Oh, and one more thing, I found out about a long lost family member I haven’t seen since he was 2 years old, he is now 43. . .much to catch up on, much to heal. . .

So, what is the point of all this rambling. . .I have no idea!!!  It just feels better getting it off my chest and maybe that is the message.  If something is bothering you so much that it is causing a change in how you behave, get it off your chest!  Talk to someone you trust, someone you love, someone. . .AND take your meds if you need em’.

Sandy Ozanich © November 4, 2013

11 thoughts on “Some Days Or Weeks Are Worse Than Others. . .

  1. Hi Sandy, I found your site through seeing your comment on ProverbsWay’s blog. I’m so sorry to hear all the things you have been going through. I’m going to take a moment and pray for you right now…

    “I pray that [Sandy] would have faith and knowledge resting on the hope of eternal life, which you God, who does not lie, promised before the beginning of time” (Titus 1:2).

    “May you, God of hope, fill [Sandy] with all joy and peace as she trusts in you so that she will over flow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit” (Romans 15:13).

    Many Blessings,
    Danielle Street

    • Danielle, how very caring of you to offer that wonderful prayer. . .your prayer for my situation is an act of love and gratitude that does my heart good. As believers, it is good that we care for and pray for each other. . .to uplift and encourage.

      Thanking you with blessing and grace,
      SandyO

  2. Sandy, you are skilled at both laughing and crying, talking and listening, screaming and caring about your screaming …. it’s a gift… such a gift! A bit of cheerleading from me to you — You go girl …. you made it through another very painful time, pain of body, heart, mind, soul. I can only imagine all the energy involved to go through your unique healing journey, caring for yourself as a survivor/thriver of lung translplant along with all the medical appointments thereof. Caring for yourself as a wonderful, spiritfilled woman interested always in healing backwards and forwards regarding the whole of your life story including family history, family now, and blessing all who know you into the future. I am so happy to be part of your life. with love, Nancy

  3. First of all…I just want to say “Thank you” for being so transparent! It is truly refreshing to see somebody be open and honest. I’m glad you are “getting it out”. Hope you start to feel better.

    • Thanks!!! I believe that in order to heal we must get that “crap” out so the wound will heal and close. Sometimes it takes a time or two to get it done. I don’t always get it done or out, but practice makes it easier.

      Love and blessings to you
      SandyO

  4. Hi Sandy – I’ve been away for six months (until just recently) and am catching up with all my favorite blogs. I, too, had plantar fasciitis for 1.5 years – couldn’t get rid of it. Had to wear shoes All the time the minute I put my feet to the floor in the morning. Incredibly painful! Then one day it came to me to try riding my bike. I lived in a mobile home park at the time and I would get on my bike and ride for 15 minutes each day, keeping my feet flat on the pedals and riding at a steady medium speed. In just one week the improvement was amazing!! And it finally went away. I know with certainty (after looking at my calendar where I mark all use of any medication I might have to take) that I took the antibiotic Cipro before each episode of tendonitis – I had deQuevain’s tendinitis in both my wrists and had to have two operations for that. Then the plantar fascitis and a number of years later I had been sitting awhile at my computer so I stretched my legs out and it felt like someone threw a basketball at the back of my left calf!! And I heard a loud Pop at the same time. Evidently, I had a partial ruptured Achilles tendon. After that happened my left calf muscle had a sunk -in place. So my suggestion to you and anyone else reading this, if you have any sort of tendon problems DO NOT take the antibiotic Cipro. God bless, and have a wonderful Christmas!

    • HI
      First of all, welcome back!!!
      Thanks for the info on plantar fasciitis. It is quite the painful thing. After reading about your experience I will be sure to not use Cipro. Had no idea that this would be such a problem.

      Well, Godbless ya! I hope you and yours enjoy the Blessings of this Christmas Season. . .

      SandyO

Leave a Reply

