Pain Wasn’t On My Agenda Today

Well, it wasn’t on my agenda the last two weeks either.

I find it interesting how I deal with pain (physical and emotional). . .Two weeks ago as I was leaving my home for work I stepped on a small piece of ice on the steps and my right knee went down the 3 steps before I did.  Needless to say, my knee twisted and the lower half of my leg ended up behind me being sat upon by my more than medium sized rear-end. . .

Okay, enough of the humor for now.

It is not easy living life day to day when you are in pain, any kind of pain.  I have things to do,  places to be, meetings to be held and grandchildren to cuddle.  All this other stuff wasn’t part of the plan.  So I am a bit complain-y today.  I don’t like pain, I don’t like crabbiness, and I really don’t like telling all of this to you.  However, I know I am not alone in this.

What can be done about it???  First of all and truly, I do thank Jesus for allowing me to share in his sufferings.  To some it may sound absolutely crazy to say that, but I do believe in the power of redemptive suffering and offer it to Him.  Next, I try, through all the crabbiness and tense-ness to understand what it is I am supposed to learn from this pain.

My pain is caused from a fall.  What am I learning about the fall???  I am learning to watch where I walk for one!  But beyond this, perhaps it is a lesson in slowing down and paying more attention to those around me.  Being better to my husband, my children, not to mention myself and more than this to God.  I know that things get neglected when I am unable to do what needs to be done.  I am more than thankful for my husband Tom and my son Brian for their help around the house.  I am thankful for my friends and the rest of my family for their love and concern, their prayers and their fun loving ways of lifting me up.  I am thankful. . .hmmm, Thankful???

Yes, thankful.  No matter what this life brings, no matter the pain, the sorrow, the joy, the accomplishments I must never forget to be THANKFUL!

May you be blessed friends!

Sandy Ozanich (c) February 27, 2014

4 thoughts on “Pain Wasn’t On My Agenda Today

  1. Sorry to hear about your fall, no one told me. You are so right about being thankful, with everything I went through I also was very thankful for all of my family n friends. You take care and hope the pain and your knee are getting better.

  2. Thank you, Sandy. You are a woman of deep faith; a woman to be admired. You have a faith-understanding of what the Passion of Jesus is all about and how our sufferings are not wasted when united to His.

    • You are such a sweet friend! Thank you for your encouragement and advise. I can only do what I feel is inside me even on days when I’m really not sure what is inside me. I just know that I can’t let go of Jesus even when I think I’m not really holding on. . .do you know what I mean?

      See you soon. . .
      SandyO

  3. No matter what this life brings, no matter the pain, the sorrow, the joy, the accomplishments I must never forget to be THANKFUL!

    ====

    This is a very positive sentiment. Thank you for sharing it with all of us. Blessings and love to you, Sandy.

Leave a Reply

