L. E. N. T.

Let’s End Negative Thinking/Talking

 

A few weeks ago while attending our Passionist Lay Associate Meeting, one of our Associates mentioned that he and his wife had attended a conference or seminar given by a well known priest, Fr. Scott Seethaler, OFM.

Fr. Scott mentioned something that really hit me. . .He made an anagram out of the word LENT = Let’s End Negative Thinking/Talking (Italics are my addition to the anagram)

OK, let me think about this for a minute or so. . .It makes perfect sense to me as something that I could or really should do for Lent this year and continue throughout the year until it kicks in.

It is so easy to get drawn into making negative comments or having negative thoughts about just about everything. . .the weather, my next door neighbor, my boss, my family, friends, etc.  Not hard at all.

I have to say that NOT doing it is harder than I thought.  It is going to  take time to get out of that nasty habit because it is.  One thing leads to another and the next thing I know I am wading in muddy water.

My prayer for today and for the rest of Lent and this year is to guard my tongue. . .go back to the old adage that moms of all ages have said, “If you can’t say anything nice, then don’t say anything at all”. . .words cut, words hurt, words wound. . .I don’t want to wound anyone again and I will be working on it every day.

 

Be blessed!

Sandy Ozanich (c) March 28, 2014

 

 

Leave a Reply

