I Believe We Know What Abilities We Have

Monday of the Twenty-fifth Week in Ordinary Time
Lectionary: 449

Proverbs 3:27-34
Psalm 15:2-3a, 3-bc-4ab, 5
Luke 8:16-18

In our first two readings today from Proverbs and Psalms we hear how to be good citizens or neighbors.  They made me think of the 10 Commandments or the Golden Rule.  All very good treatises on how to live as a good neighbor or citizen.

In the Gospel Jesus tells the crowd: “No one who lights a lamp conceals it with a vessel or sets it under a bed; rather, he places it on a lampstand so that those who enter may see the light.”

Jesus wants us to know that we have wonderful gifts given by God to be used for the uplifting of others.  It is about using our gifts of hospitality or compassion, work for the poor or sick.  I believe we know what abilities we have, things we do well.  They are the gifts we can use to help others.

I’d like to share a bit of a song that I love.  It plays on our local Christian Radio Station, it’s by a group called JJ Weeks.

Let Them See You

(chorus)

Let them see You in me let them hear You when I speak
Let them feel You when I sing
Let them see You, let them see You in me

Who am I without Your grace, another smile another face
Another breath a grain of sand passing quickly through Your hand
I give my life an offering take it all take everything. . .

(chorus)

I share this with you because it speaks of what the readings are saying.  The Psalmist, the author of Proverbs and Jesus are saying ~ live your life in a good way, be there for your neighbor’s, your friends, your family.  Be there for God, talk to God.  Most of all, everyone should be able to see God in you by the way you live, work, love and share.

Be a blessing because YOU are blessed!

Leave a Reply

