Thanks, Gratitude and Remembrance!

Today, September 30th is a wonderful day for me!  It was 9 years ago today that I received my double lung transplant.  I am joyful and so very grateful for the chance I was given to live on.  It is a day of deep gratitude for the family of my lung donor and my lung donor himself!  It is also a day of thought and sadness that a family lost their loved one.  How do you thank someone who has given you the chance to live???

It reminds me of a Psalm:  How can I make a return to the Lord, for all the good he has done for me?

I think of my donor ~ what did he look like, what did he love and not love, did he have a wife or children???  Did he laugh lots and love more? Who were his favorite sports teams and what did he do for fun???  These are all questions that perhaps one day I will find the answer to.  But, if I don’t I can be sure that when I pass from this world I will meet him and give him my great thanks!

All I know about my donor is that he was a 29 year old male.  I received the lungs from the Charleston West Virginia Hospital.  I will be sending another letter to the donor family after a bit time has passed since the date of his death to let them know that the lungs I breathe with were his lungs and that I share a love for him.

I will be thinking and praying for him in a very special way today.

May his soul and the souls of the faithful departed rest in Peace!!!

 

Transplant Date:  September 30, 2005

Sandy Ozanich (c) September 30, 2014

 

 

One thought on “Thanks, Gratitude and Remembrance!

Leave a comment