Archive | January 8, 2012

Epiphany!

Today we celebrate Epiphany, the day when 3 kings followed that bright star to find Jesus the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes.  They found the king of kings, Prince of Peace, Lord of all.

I would like to offer a poem I wrote years ago ~

***********************************

Just Follow The Star In Your Heart

I know a fellow searcher when I see one,

I recognized the look in your eyes;

the bewildered stare of one who has been long on the road and short on hope.

It’s not hard to miss. . .

the stars in your eyes are quickly replaced with disillusionment;

for they cannot last, like the embers of a burned out Fourth of July sparkler.

For years I followed the wrong stars, looking for the Christ.

I followed the star of the Church; believing that I would get far if I busied myself with her work ~ what  rush it was!  But there was no manger under that star. . .

I followed the star of “new spiritualities” chasing rituals and gurus.  I read about and studied the Christ be he eluded me in the words.  I learned so much, but there was no manger under that star. . .

I followed the star of busyness, occupying myself with chores and schedules.  It seemed there wasn’t enough time in a day to accomplish my indispensable duties.  Idleness and inactivity I kept at a distance not wanting to just “waste time”; but, there was no manger under that star. .

I followed the star of stardom itself, finding ways to stand with prominence among my peers, but there was no manger under that star. .

It was only later, deep in the quiet of my God~place that another star arose  I followed the star in my heart and found the manger there ~ waiting for me.  I found the Christ with His quiet dignity and strength; the Wisdom of the Ages, the Prince of Peace.

And so my fellow searcher, listen well to the words I speak.  Following after other stars will not quench the thirst that lives in you.  You must follow the star in your heart and in the stillness you will discover everything you’ve ever searched for.  You will see that all the other stars cannot fulfill you, cannot make you whole; just follow the star in your heart; there is a manger under that star!

*****************************************

My prayer for you is that you follow that star in your heart and find the Christ there, waiting for you with love, joy and forgiveness. . .

May God’s richest blessings be yours,

Sandy O